Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Newbie car question (Read 8,599 times)
Goldsby
Spectator

SCCBC Forum Member

Newbie car question
Aug 26th, 2013 at 6:30am

Hi everyone. This is a newbie question so bear with me please. I am wanting to build a fairly competitive car for IP3 (scca rulebook calls it ITA) and was thinking of a Honda Civic Si. They are cheap to buy and maintain and have a large aftermarket following. I am just wondering if it could be a competitive car? What do most people build for this class? As far as i read the rulebook i should be able to do an aftermarket ecu with tuning, upgraded brakes (as long as it mounts to factory mounting points), a header and exhaust, set of coil overs and springs, sway bars, tires and wheels, and of coarse all the safety gear.

The goal is to complete the car over the winter for driver training in the spring. I have lots of experience in off road racing and am a mechanic by trade. I also fabricate and design tube chassis ultra4 race vehicles just to name one type. Any help to get me set in the right direction would be appreciated.
I look forward to meeting you on the paddock and the track. Cheers Daryl.

IP Logged

2muchfun247
Novice

Road racing, not street
racing!

Richmond B.C.
Re: Newbie car question
Reply #1 - Aug 26th, 2013 at 6:49am

A Honda  is a great car to race at mission ,. IP3 is one of the largest and most competitive classes we have. I would do a crx, if you want to run up front, they are a little lighter  than the civic . , You should fit right in at the track with your mechanical and fabricating back ground .As far as your car to class rules  , I think you are bang on , I run IP1 , but I believe the rules are the same as far as mods go . I am sure someone from IP3 can verify that for sure . The sccbc is a great club and everyone is so nice ...it is a family atmosphere and everyone is always ready to lend a hand !  Todd #124

IP Logged

Goldsby
Spectator

SCCBC Forum Member