Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
The Sports Car Club of BC

HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Does the championship point system make sense? (Read 3,397 times)
Doug F
Novice

West Kelowna, BC
Does the championship point system make sense?
Oct 8th, 2014 at 8:19am

I'm just a relative newbie to this sport so will defer to the sage advice of the veterans, but I really don't get the championship point system that SCCBC uses. I'm in Open Wheel where FV, FF, FL, FC and SR classes compete. A few of the classes are so small that you just need to show up and you get 9 or 6 points. Other classes have more cars so the competition is fierce and collecting points ain't so easy. As a result, the best racer in OW doesn't necessarily become the champion. It can just as likely be the racer with the fewest entries in their class and the best attendance record. I suspect the effects of this awards system is similar in CW. Should anything be done to remedy this or is this the best configuration possible? Do we want this to be an attendance award or something that's fought fiercely and proudly earned?

To me, it would make more sense to assign the awards within each individual class (FV, FF, SR, etc), rather than group (OW, CW1, etc), much in the way SR already has the advantage of being separated from the rest of OW. I know this system is the same as CACC but so what? Do we need to be unfair just so we're different? If we want to keep this system, how about requiring a minimum participation per race in a class before points are awarded of, say, 3 cars?

I'd appreciate hearing from all y'all on this, especially from the old-timers.
« Last Edit: Oct 8th, 2014 at 9:53am by Doug F »  

“Racing is life. Anything before or after is just waiting.”
- Steve McQueen

IP Logged

Pass Tense
Novice

Senior Racer

Vancouver
Re: Does the championship point system make sense?
Reply #1 - Oct 8th, 2014 at 11:06am

Check out www.caccautosport.org/