Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
The Sports Car Club of BC

HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Legal or not....that's the question.... (Read 18,928 times)
Rob Dyck
Senior Racer

Legal or not....that's the question....
Apr 11th, 2010 at 7:13am

When I purchased my race car I was told that it is a legal IP3 race car (and it is). After checking the rules, the most notable item that popped out at me from the rule book was :

"no component or part normally found on a stock example of a given vehicle may be disabled, altered or removed..."

Of course further to that we also have the following:

"...protest against a car, that is for example, based on the absence of a valve cap or a cigar lighter, will be deemed vexatious..."

Ok, I am in agreement with the last statement. But how far does the limit of "vexatious" go?

Being a rather heavy driver, I search for ways to lighten the car (yes, including eating a few less cheesburgers Angry  ) by removing useless parts but never did because I was constantly told that would make my car illegal....

So I ask the gurus of the TECH world... What parts would fall under the category of "vexatious"? For example, I still have in the car the rear windshield wiper motor, windshield washer fluid bottle and those hydraulic pistons that hold up my rear hatch because they are "parts normally found on a stock example".

I don't see these parts on a few of the other cars..... are they still legal?

I would appreciate some clarification on these matters.

Thanks

Smiley

IP Logged

Rye
Senior Racer

Road racing, not street
racing!

Re: Legal or not....that's the question....
Reply #1 - Apr 11th, 2010 at 8:40am

In my opinion, those cars that you are refering to are illegal, but it's not up to tech to make that call. Anything outside of safety equipment is policed by being protested by other drivers.