Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
The Sports Car Club of BC

HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Selecting a Car for IP? (Read 14,034 times)
Darwin
Novice

BC
Selecting a Car for IP?
Sep 7th, 2011 at 1:06pm

Hey Gang,

I'm looking into either buying or building a car for IP and would love some feedback.  I'm most familiar with RWD V8's (drive a Gray Corvette in SoloSprint), but am contemplating an import for IP2 or 3 instead of prepping the Vette for IP1.  I'm a mechanic (amongst other things) and have built a bunch of muscle cars over the decades, and could probably handle much of the build work myself - other than the cage.  Race setup would be new...

My thoughts are to try to maximize the allowable HP in the class in the lightest package (the common goal for all of us) - but my personal experience tells me that is generally done with maximum displacement, however I suspect that may not always be the case with Japanese engines.  For example: 1.8L VTEC Acura (142 HP stock) compared to 2.5L Subaru (155 HP stock) in like-weight vehicles.  Does the Acura respond much better to the allowed IP2 mods than the Subaru and end up with the most HP, or is it pretty much already fully-tweaked out of the box?

The goal is also to haul the spare wheels and associated gear to the track in the car, instead of trailering it.  So, I'd need to be able to put temporary permits on it and drive it over an hour each way to Mission.  The joys of apartment living...

I'm pretty sure that spare wheels and such will not fit in the Vette even if it was gutted (it's a coupe not a hatch), and the tires/brakes budget is a bit of a deterrent.  I'm also thinking that a FWD/AWD might maximize my entertainment value considering all the rain we get at Mission.  With both of those taken into consideration - that might rule out a Camaro/Firebird IP1 as an option.