2017 SCCBC Annual Award Winners

The Sports Car Club of BC held its annual Awards Banquet on October 28, 2017 at the Coast Hotel in Langley. The event, organized by Roland Stec and hosted by MC Ray Stec, was well attended by SCCBC members, spouses and friends.

A list of SCCBC’s 2017 annual award and class championship winners are provided below.

2017 Annual Award Winners

Award Description Winner
Formula Car Champion Most points in Open Wheel Doug Floer
Sports Car Champion Most points in Closed Wheel Amir Kani
Best Appearing Crew Sharpest dudes in the Paddock R&P Motorsports
Best Appearing Car Sharpest car in the Paddock Doug Yip
Robert Currie Award Volunteer of the Year Ann McColl
Rattenbury Award Competitor of the Year Collin Jackson
Department Outstanding dedication to the sport Timing and Scoring
Hard Luck Award Some compensation for a tough year! Al Ores
Novice of the Year Outstanding newcomer to motorsports Andrew Dobbie
Al Ores Award Sportsman of the year Norm Shaw
Roy Shadbolt Memorial Award Club member demonstrating success in professional circuit Scott Hargrove
Deryk Forster Award Outstanding member of the year Gayle Baird
Randall Award Outstanding long-term contribution to SCCBC Marc Ramsay

2017 SCCBC Class Championship Winners

Class Winner Second Third
Formula Car (Open Wheel) Championship Doug Floer Robbie Arthur Darren Grandbois
Sports Car (Closed Wheel) Championship Amir Kani Werner Berger Scott Lin
Formula Continental James Nadolny Keray McEwan Patrick Wilson
Formula Ford Doug Floer Dave McKay Erle Archer
Formula Vee Robbie Arthur Darren Grandbois Al Ores
GTO Gerald Paetz Larry Bell
IP3 Amir Kani Gayle Baird David Unickow
IPE Gayle Baird Sterling Land
PRO3 Werner Berger Malcolm Curtis John Gillespie
Spec Miata Scott Lin Rod Davison Todd Morin
Sports Racer Ray Stec Phil Roney

The club executive is grateful to all the volunteers and members that worked hard to make the 2017 season successful.