2018 SCCBC Annual Award Winners

The Sports Car Club of BC held its annual Awards Banquet on October 27, 2018 at the Coast Hotel in Langley. The event, organized by Roland Stec and hosted by MC Ray Stec, was well attended by SCCBC members, spouses and friends.

A list of SCCBC’s 2018 annual award and class championship winners are provided below.

2018 Annual Award Winners

Award Description Winner
Formula Car Champion Most points in Open Wheel Doug Floer
Sports Car Champion Most points in Closed Wheel Gary Kwong
Best Appearing Crew Sharpest dudes in the Paddock Speed Fanatics
Best Appearing Car Sharpest car in the Paddock Gary Kwong
Robert Currie Award Volunteer of the Year Doris Gildemeister
Rattenbury Award Competitor of the Year Sterling Land
Department Outstanding dedication to the sport Booking and Track Managers
Hard Luck Award Some compensation for a tough year! Keray McEwan
Novice of the Year Outstanding newcomer to motorsports Doug Morgan
Al Ores Award Sportsman of the year Allan Harvey
Roy Shadbolt Memorial Award Club member demonstrating success in professional circuit Wei Lu
Deryk Forster Award Outstanding member of the year Allan Harvey
Randall Award Outstanding long-term contribution to SCCBC Laurie Kaerne


2018 SCCBC Class Championship Winners

Class Winner Second Third
Formula Car (Open Wheel) Championship Doug Floer Darren Grandbois James Nadolny
Sports Car (Closed Wheel) Championship Gary Kwong Sterling Land Gayle Baird
Formula Continental James Nadolny Phil Roney Keray McEwan
Formula Ford Doug Floer Dave McKay Keith Robinson
Formula Vee Darren Grandbois Al Ores Andrew Mawdsley
IP3 Gayle Baird
IPE Gary Kwong Tony Pregal Vesna Ennis
Spec Miata Sterling Land Allan Harvey Rod Davison


The club executive is grateful to all the volunteers and members that worked hard to make the 2018 season successful.