2015 SCCBC Annual Award Presentations

Three Generations of Racers

The Sports Car Club of BC held its annual Awards Banquet on November 7, 2015 at the new Elements Hotel in Burnaby. A crowd of over 100 attended this gala event to share tall tales with brothers and sisters in arms.

The evening was full of surprises and featured the recognition of SCCBC’s first three-generation racing family as well as a spontaneous marriage proposal from the GTU class champion.

2015 saw the introduction of the SCCBC Class Championship Awards. President Ray Stec, assisted by brother Roland, presented both the Class Championship and Annual awards to the gathered membership.

A list of the 2015 annual award and class championship winners are provided below. Visit our photo gallery for more photos from the 2015 Awards Banquet.

2015 Annual Award Winners

Award Description Winner
Formula Champion Most points in Open Wheel Paul Higgins
Sports Car Champion Most points in Closed Wheel Amir Kani
Best Appearing Crew Sharpest dudes in the Paddock Nixon Pro Sports
Best Appearing Car Sharpest car in the Paddock Ian Thomas
Robert Currie Award Volunteer of the Year Lynne Burnett
Rattenbury Award Competitor of the Year Rick Payne
Department Outstanding dedication to the sport Registration
Hard Luck Award Some compensation for a tough year! Alan McColl
Novice of the Year Outstanding newcomer to motorsports Robbie Arthur
Al Ores Award Sportsman of the year Al Harvey
Roy Shadbolt Memorial Award Club member demonstrating success in professional circuit Glenn Nixon
Deryk Forster Award Outstanding member of the year Brent Martin
Randall Award Outstanding long-term contribution to SCCBC Jim McRae
Presidents Award Advancing motorsport in BC Norm Shaw

2015 SCCBC Class Championship Winners

Class Winner Second Third
Formula Ford Doug Floer Alan McColl Dave McKay
Formula Libre Michael Lensen James Nadolny Keray McEwan
Formula Vee Paul Higgins Andrew Mawdsley Al Ores
GTM Harry Watson Robert Tarzwell Renee Berard
GTU Gary Kwong Amir Kani
IP2 Thane Pipes Renee Berard Robert Tarzwell
IP3 Scott Cameron Gayle Baird Marc Varty
IPE Gayle Baird
PRO3 Werner Berger John Gillespie Malcolm Curtis
Spec Miata Rod Davison Norm Shaw Al Harvey

The club executive is grateful to all the volunteers and members that worked hard to make the 2015 season successful.