2016 SCCBC Annual Award Presentations

The Sports Car Club of BC held its annual Awards Banquet on October 29, 2016 at the Coast Hotel in Langley. The event, organized by Roland Stec and hosted by MC Ray Stec, was well attended by SCCBC members, spouses and friends.

A list of the 2016 annual award and class championship winners are provided below. 

2016 Annual Award Winners

Award Description Winner
Formula Champion Most points in Open Wheel Darren Grandbois
Sports Car Champion Most points in Closed Wheel Amir Kani
Best Appearing Crew Sharpest dudes in the Paddock Safety Crew
Best Appearing Car Sharpest car in the Paddock RedZone BMWs of Gillespie, Curtis and Berger
Robert Currie Award Volunteer of the Year Keith Robinson
Rattenbury Award Competitor of the Year John Gillespie
Department Outstanding dedication to the sport Safety Crew
Hard Luck Award Some compensation for a tough year! Robbie Arthur
Novice of the Year Outstanding newcomer to motorsports Patrick Arthur
Al Ores Award Sportsman of the year Gayle Baird
Roy Shadbolt Memorial Award Club member demonstrating success in professional circuit Wei Lu
Deryk Forster Award Outstanding member of the year Heather McEwan
Randall Award Outstanding long-term contribution to SCCBC Michael Lensen
Presidents Award Advancing motorsport in BC

2016 SCCBC Class Championship Winners

Class Winner Second Third
Formula Continental Mitch Egner Keray McEwan Michael Lensen
Formula Ford Alan McColl Doug Floer
Formula Vee Darren Grandbois Andrew Mawdsley Robbie Arthur
GTM Gary Kwong Tony Pregal Robert Tarzwell
IP3 Amir Kani Aaron Schmidt Gayle Baird
IPE Michael McGarry Jim Baerg Gayle Baird
PRO3 Werner Berger John Gillespie Malcolm Curtis
Spec Miata Scott Lin Rod Davison Al Harvey
Sports Racer Shane Bourel Erle Archer

The club executive is grateful to all the volunteers and members that worked hard to make the 2016 season successful.